“Get Over Yourself”

In looking for something to study in our ladies life group back in April, I found another amazing woman of God named Jennifer Beckham and her book and study called “Get Over Yourself”.  While I really did not know her well and had not seen her in many years, I felt an instant connection with her through her husband, Anthony.  He grew up here in our home town and was a very good friend of my husband, Anthony. (yep ~ we both are married to Anthony’s!)  17 years ago we attended their wedding.  Their engagement and wedding took place very quickly and I remember someone telling me that she had been a Disney Princess.  Well ~ when I took one look at her on her wedding day ~ I could for sure see why she was “chosen” (read “Get Over Yourself” and you will see why that word is important!) to be a real life Princess for Disney.  She had a beauty on the outside that I have since learned is on the inside as well.

Little did I know that day ~ that all these years later I would just fall in love with her story and her ministry (www.jenniferbeckham.org) and that it would spark this “idea” in my head that I am still not sure exactly where it is taking me.  For now ~ all I know is that it is my mission to see the women in our community and beyond come together to participate in this study and bring her to Hardee County.  The study is called “Get Over Yourself”.  It is an 11 week curriculum that she wrote to teach 7 principles to basically turn the pain of your past or present into your purpose.  When I got the DVD’s in I started watching them, I ended up watching the entire study in one night!  I just wanted to see more and hear her message.

Now ~ I want to share it with others and help to create unity with the women that go through this journey together, across all the churches and groups that choose to participate together ~ but in their own churches or study groups.  While watching the videos, I instantly knew that I wanted her to come back here.  Come back to this community for an event.  So it is also my mission to bring this beautiful and talented woman here, to Hardee County, to share her story for a community wide ladies event.  Then, we hope to take her message step further to help to bring UNITY to our commUNITY!  To unite the women of our churches to serve our God together, to reach and empower those in the church to be called to a greater purpose and to reach those that have left the church or have never known about salvation and the love of God and his promises.  It is a huge goal, that will be tons of work, but I can’t wait to see God at work!!  Just with the first two churches (out of the 72 on my list to contact just in Hardee County!) that started the study, there were almost 50 women!!

So ~ some of the studies in the churches have already started, some will be starting soon and I am so excited to announce that Jennifer is coming to Hardee County on February 1st, 2014!  I can’t wait to see what this study will do in the lives of the woman in our community and beyond and what we will do together when we “Get Over Ourselves” and begin to fulfill our destiny.  Check out our Facebook page for A God World for updates on the study and event and our website www.agodworld.com for more detailed information and a list of churches participating so far!

Erica

Image

One thought on ““Get Over Yourself”

  1. Pingback: This Is Us – The Call

Leave a comment